Fast and Fun: Re-Purposed T-Shirts

Okay. I’m a middle-aged woman, and no matter what you weigh, most middle-aged women have bellies. Those skinny little t-shirts that look so great on display in the store, don’t look so good when you put them on.

I bought a couple of t-shirts from Kohl’s when they had them for sale for $7.00 last summer, but I didn’t like the way they fit….too tight across the belly. (Middle age claiming its due.) So I’m joining the movement of re-purposing.

Check out this black striped t-shirt made wearable by the addition of fabric panels on each side. I also made the scoop neck into a v-neck with a binding that matched the side inserts. While the purple family is not usually my color choice, I happen to love this funky piece of a plum-purple accented with text, turqurepurposed t #1oise, gray, and white. (I’m a sucker for any fabric that has writing on it.) The group was called “Indelible,” from Art Gallery Quilts.

I’m a very slow sewer. Some of you out there will get this done in way less time. For me, it took about 3 hours and 1/2 yard of fabric, but it was fun and way faster than many other projects on my to- do list.

 

Comments

  1. Love your idea, neat way to add to interest to an otherwise uncomfortable and unwearable item. As usual, ‘you’re the woman.’

Leave a Reply

